The Parish of Burchetts Green

  • St John the Evangelist, Littlewick Green
We warmly welcome you to join us at any of our services - One Parish Three Churches
We warmly welcome you to join us.

The Parish of Burchetts Green is a group of local churches:

Each church has its own worshipping and social life but we join together for worship monthly,
for a wide variety of social, practical and learning groups and for administrative purposes.

We welcome all newcomers and visitors.

Seeking to know Jesus, to share his love
and make him known in word and action.

News and Greetings from the Revd John Ainslie.

A warm welcome to this email Newsletter to all our friends and neighbours in the Parish of Burchetts Green.
This Sunday we continue our Harvest Festival Celebrations with a Harvest Festival Family Eucharist at 10.30am at Hurley. There will be a collection during the Eucharist of tinned and dried goods for Yeldall Manor, the local Christian Rehabilitation Centre.

The full range of Sunday Services this week in our churches is:
Stubbings 8am – Holy Communion (BCP)
Hurley 10.30am – Harvest Festival Family Service (Eucharist)
Littlewick Green – open for private prayer 11am to 4pm

Services for Sunday 4th October will be:
Littlewick Green 9.15am - Family Eucharist
Hurley 10.30am – Listening to God in Music

Our churches remain open for private prayer during the week as follows:
St John the Evangelist, Littlewick Green: 11am to 4pm Thurs-Sat
St Mary the Virgin, Hurley: 8am to 10am Thurs-Frid

I am grateful to Teresa Kennard, our Licensed Lay Minister, for providing our weekly reflection this week.

The Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) is normally held in April, but this year had to be deferred due to Covid restrictions. Planning is under way for this to take place in October. Nominations can now be accepted from anyone wanting to be a member of the PCC, or a Churchwarden. If you would like to put yourself forward ask a churchwarden for a form, or contact the PCC Secretary Hazel O’Connor. If you want to know more about what it involves speak to any of the Wardens or existing members of the PCC.

This is also the time for the Church Electoral Roll to be finalised ready for the APCM. If you are not on the Electoral Roll, but feel an affinity with our churches and would like to be, then ask a churchwarden for a form or speak to Gilly in the Parish Office. The deadline for this is 1st October.

The Parish Office is now open every Monday, 9.30 - 11.30am.
To avoid too many people converging at the Soltau Centre at any one time we ask that personal visits are only made if absolutely essential – but of course Gilly will be there to answer the telephone.  I am available as usual Sunday-Wednesday on 01628 629827 and

Next Tuesday 29th September sees the Christian festival of St Michael and All Angels (Michaelmas), which is also one of the four “quarter days” (each near to a solstice or equinox marking out the four seasons) on which from medieval times servants used to be hired and rents were payable (indeed some still are). The four quarter days are the origin (with some twists and turns associated with the change from the Julian calendar to the Gregorian calendar) of our tax year starting on 6th April.

Appropriately for Michaelmas, we do seem to have moved into Autumn with the nights closing in more and distinctly cooler temperatures each morning. I’ve noticed birds being more active – perhaps giving their wings a work-out before embarking on a long migration! I am enjoying scuffing the first of the leaves on the ground and “playing football” with conkers as I walk Mac in the park; I wonder if our children are allowed to play conkers any more, in these safety-conscious times? I’m sure we’ll have some lovely days and weeks ahead full of Autumn colour. It really can be a wonderful time of year, whether you’re out and about in the countryside or just observing nature through the kitchen window.

For our prayers
For all those suffering as a result of Covid-19; for those whose jobs and livelihoods are threatened; for those who are ill and their families; for those in isolation especially in care homes; and for students away at University or College in these strange times – and their parents as they support them from a distance. For our uniformed organisations – scouts, cubs and brownies – and our local schools. For those who have died as a result of the virus. And those whose operations and other treatments have been deferred as the health services cope with Covid-19. For our churches as they seek to be a source of spiritual refreshment and comfort in these difficult times.

For those who live in parts of the world with inadequate health care facilities; for development aid agencies and all who work to bring relief from suffering in places of famine, disaster or warfare. For refugees, especially that nations across the world including our own will respond with compassion to their needs. For the work of Maidenhead Foodshare and of Yeldall Manor.

For those of our community in any kind of need; physical, mental, economic or for any other reason. For the repose of the soul of Hurley resident Roy Impey, whose funeral takes place on Tuesday, and for his family and friends as they mourn his death; and for all who mourn the loss of a loved one at this time.

Visit we beseech thee O lord our homes and drive far from them all evil.
Let your holy angels dwell with us to keep us in peace and safety;
and may your blessing be upon our homes, our community, and our world.
Now and for evermore.

The Oxford Diocesan online Sunday Eucharist has returned to its regular 10am Sunday slot after the summer break, and can be found at  I continue to also recommend the daily and Sunday online services from Canterbury Cathedral.

The Weekly Prayer Sheet from the Hurley Oasis Group is available on this website, and there is also a link to sign-up to receive this weekly email Newsletter, for anyone you know who might like to receive it regularly, view here>>.

Keep safe, be gentle on yourself, and remember that with God by your side you need never be alone.
With love and prayers,
Fr John Ainslie

Owing to Covid 19, this year's APCM has been postponed until October.

Appointments at the Annual Parish Council Meeting(APCM)
The meeting elected:

Churchwardens: Mary Cooper, Susan Harrington-Hill, Richard Moores and Jenny Robinson

Parochial Church Council members: Rosalind Bentley, Fiona Fieldhouse, Sally Gray. Joleen Newton, Teresa Kennard, Hazel O'Connor and Jane Smith.

The churchwardens, Vicar, Revd Tina Molyneux and Deanery Synod representatives Tom Dobinson and Elaine Mordaunt, are also ex-officio members of the PCC.

PCC secretary is Hazel O'Connor and Colin Evans is our independent examiner.

Parish Treasurer is Tom Dobinson

Our ministry team, (Parish is currently in an interregnum) Revd Dilys Woodmore, Teresa Kennard.

The Reports for the Annual Parochial Church Council meeting on April 29th  2018 can be viewed here>>.


Keeping your data safe
Data Protection -  General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR)

Links to our:-

Privacy Notice

Electoral Roll Privacy Notice and Consent Form

Safeguarding Policy Statement
We are a Parish in the Deanery of Windsor and Maidenhead within the Diocese of Oxford

Telephone: Tel:01628 820077

Parish Administrator
Burchetts Green Parish Office,  Soltau Centre, Stubbings,
Henley Road, Maidenhead, SL6 6QW
Normal office hours are 9.30 -11.30 Mon, Tues & Thurs.
© The Parish of Burchetts Green
For general enquiries, Soltau Centre bookings and baptism, wedding and funeral enquiries please contact our Parish Administrator at the Parish Office
Registered Charity No.1137069

Privacy Notice            
Electoral Roll Privacy Notice        

Safeguarding Policy Statement